The Tata Steel Chess Tournament is one of the most prestigious events in the international chess calendar. The “Wimbledon of Chess” attracts the very best chess grandmasters in the world, along with thousands of amateur players, live event visitors and online visitors from around the world. In 2023, the Tata Steel Chess Tournament celebrates its 85th year.

During its 85 years of history, the Tata Steel Chess Tournament has attracted some of the biggest names in chess history. Visitors to the tournament have witnessed the rise and domination of players like Norway’s Magnus Carlsen, India’s Viswanathan Anand, and Russia’s Gary Kasparov.

The Masters group pits fourteen of the world’s best against each other in a round-robin tournament. Since 1938, there has been a long list of famous winners, including Max Euwe, Tigran Petrosian, Jan Timman, Anatoly Karpov, Vladimir Kramnik, Garry Kasparov, Viswanathan Anand and Magnus Carlsen.

Of the eight World Chess Champions since 1946, only the names of Vasily Smyslov and Bobby Fischer are missing. In 2001, nine of the top ten players in the world participated.

Carlsen first played at the tournament in 2004, the same year as he became a chess grandmaster. Carlsen holds the record for most wins at the tournament, with seven titles to his name.

History archive